Skip to main content

Turku Music Festival Foundation

The city of Turku started the Turku Music Festival Foundation in 1989 with the aim to ensure the continuation of Turku Music Festival. The goal of Turku Music Festival Foundation is to provide high quality and versatile musical performances, as well as to promote the value of musical past time activities and the appreciation of music. The Foundation’s main task is the production and organization of the annual festival . In addition, the Foundation collaborates with a number of cultural operators in organizing other cultural events in the Turku area.


Saara-Sofia Sirén, chairman (Sanna Hovi)
Jenni Jäntti, vice chairman (Laura Lindholm)
Lauri Kattelus (Vesa Pihajoki)
Ari Rantanen (Teppo Mäenpää)
Päivi Pietari (Kaarina Sainio)
Laura Rantanen (Riina Mustonen)
Kasper Holtari (Jouni Kaunisto)
Anna-Karin Tötterman (Susanne Segerstråle)
Joakim Keuru (Teemu Kivimäki)


Così fan tutte Opera 2009-10, Le nozze di Figaro Opera and Taikahuilu Opera 2016 Åbo Svenska Teater (in cooperation with Åbo Svenska Teater and the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra). Hannu and Kerttu Opera 2014 (in cooperation with Turku Philharmonic Orchestra and Saaristo Opera)
Aboagora Symposium, is conducted every August, at the time of the Turku Music Festival, and its theme varies each year. Aboagora consists of public keynote lectures and dialogues, smaller round table workshops as well as artistic programmes.  Aboagora was founded in 2011 and is produced in collaboration with the University of Turku Cultural History Institute, Åbo Akademi University and the Donner Institute.
Eric XIV Opera This major production introduced opera to an industrial setting and brought together many of the resources of the cultural institutions operating in Turku to create a spectacular large-scale production. Impressive visual projections, an urban environment and the Renaissance court converged into a visually magnificent drama.
The Die Kalewainen in Pochjola opera was jointly produced by the Turku Philharmonic Orchestra and formed a part of the centenary celebrations of Finland’s independence.
The Turku cello competition of 2010, 2014, 2018 and 2022.